SAQA The information on Professional Bodies and Professional Designations on the National Qualifications Framework is public property. Thus the only payment that can be made for it is for service and reproduction. It is illegal to sell this material for profit. If the material is reproduced or quoted, the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) should be acknowledged as the source.
DMA - Disaster Management Associate 
761  DMA - Disaster Management Associate 
DMISA - Disaster Management Institute of Southern Africa  Reregistered 
SAQA 13127/19  2019-12-05  2024-12-04 

Disaster Management is the organisation and management of resources and responsibilities for dealing with all aspects of emergencies, in particular preparedness, response and recovery in order to lessen the impact of disasters.

The Disaster Management Act, Act 57 of 2002 requires that the National Centre, the Provincial Disaster Management Centres as well as Municipal Disaster Management Centres must appoint a person as a Head of such a Centre. The Head of the National Centre performs the duties of the Centre in terms of Section 15(3) of the Act; the Head of the Provincial Centre in terms of Section 30(3) of the Act and the Head of the Municipal Centre in terms of Section 44(3).

The staff of a municipal disaster management centre consists of the head of the municipal disaster management centre; and suitably qualified persons appointed in the administration of the municipality.

Various disaster management related positions exist in the private sector, as well as NGO's. 
For the Professional Designation to be awarded, professionals must comply with the following minimum requirements: 
Underlying Registered Qualification or Part Qualification:
The Disaster Management Associate [DMA] designation represents an intermediate position in a disaster management structure and requires an energetic person with leadership skills, sound inter personal skills and organisational ability. Applicants should have at least 3 years experience in the field of disaster management. The capacity to work under pressure and make decisions under disaster conditions, is of particular importance. The position requires excellent communication skills, therefore experience in public speaking, training and/or presentation skills is highly recommended. The successful candidate should have some experience in planning, project and finance management, and knowledge of integrated development planning. Familiarity with information management systems and GIS in its application to disaster management as well as emergency radio communication systems is recommended, or a keenness to develop these skills.

Academic Component:
  • An NQF level 6 qualification in Disaster Management.
    > for an RPL application:
  • Any NQF 5 qualification (with specific additional non-academic experiential learning requirements).
  • Any NQF 6 qualification (with specific additional non-academic experiential learning requirements).
  • Any NQF 7 qualification (with specific additional non-academic experiential learning requirements). 
  • Experiential Learning or Experience
  • 3 years working in a disaster management field.
    > for an RPL application:
  • Any NQF 5 plus 8 - 10 years in the field of Disaster Management.
  • Any NQF 6 plus 5 - 8 years in the field of Disaster Management.
  • Any NQF 7 plus 3 - 5 years in the field of Disaster Management. 
  • Competency Assessment
    The assessment of the application [including a RPL application] will be conducted by two assessors acting independently, and moderated by a third party. Recommendations will be forwarded to the Technical Training Board for finalisation of the process, where after it will be submitted to the Executive Committee for retification.

    In terms of the Policy for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), the Institute will provide a system whereby applicants may apply for recognition of prior knowledge, skills, experience, qualifications and part qualifications to be considered as criteria by which credits are accumulated for recognition for admission to the designation. 
    Designation RPL Statement
    This Designation may be awarded through Recognition of Prior Learning. 
    In order to ensure the currency of professional knowledge and to retain the Professional Designation, the professional must comply with the following minimum requirements: 
    Code of Conduct
    Members must adhere to the Professional Body Codes of Conduct and Ethics. 
    Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
    Policy for Continuing Professional Development (CDP):
    The purpose of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is to assist Disaster Management Practitioners to maintain and acquire new and updated levels of knowledge, skills and ethical attitudes on an ongoing basis, thereby enhancing and promoting professional practice and integrity.

    Description of Policy components:
    Members will be expected to acquire 20 CPD points in every two (2) year cycle in order to maintain their designations. 
    Ensure that the annual membership fee is paid. 

    (The Designation being reported on here is shown in italics.)

    Sequence Designation ID Designation Title
    1760DMT - Disaster Management Technician
    2761DMA - Disaster Management Associate
    3762DMPc - Disaster Management Practitioner
    4593PrDM - Disaster Management Professional

    For more information on this Professional Designation, please visit