SAQA The information on Professional Bodies and Professional Designations on the National Qualifications Framework is public property. Thus the only payment that can be made for it is for service and reproduction. It is illegal to sell this material for profit. If the material is reproduced or quoted, the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) should be acknowledged as the source.
PrDM - Disaster Management Professional 
593  PrDM - Disaster Management Professional 
DMISA - Disaster Management Institute of Southern Africa  Reregistered 
SAQA 13127/19  2019-12-05  2024-12-04 

The Disaster Management Act, Act 57 of 2002 requires that the National Centre, the Provincial Disaster Management Centres as well as Municipal Disaster Management Centres must appoint a person as a Head of such a Centre. The Head of the National Centre performs the duties of the Centre in terms of Section 15(3) of the Act; the Head of the Provincial Centre in terms of Section 30(3) of the Act and the Head of the Municipal Centre in terms of Section 44(3). 
For the Professional Designation to be awarded, professionals must comply with the following minimum requirements: 
Underlying Registered Qualification or Part Qualification:
Some of the courses available towards Disaster Management Qualifications in South Africa:
  • Doctor of Philosophy - University of the Free State and North West University.
  • Masters Degree in Disaster Management - (DiMTEC) University of the Free State and African Centre for Disaster Studies - North-West University.
  • Bachelor of Business Administration Degree in Disaster Management - Stenden University.
  • Short courses in Disaster Management - (DiMTEC) University of the Free State:
    > The Sphere Project and Minimum Standards in Disaster Response.
    > Disaster Risk Management.
    > Geographical Information Systems (GIS) for Disaster Risk Management.
    > Political Strategic Planning in Disaster Management.
    > Disaster Vulnerability and Risk Assessment.
    > Environmental Risk and Impact Assessment.
    > Information Technology and Management.
    > Ethnic and Cultural Conduct in Disaster Management.
    > Management of Media Relations in Disaster Management.
    > Disaster Trauma Management" Management of Industrial Disaster Risk.
    > Disasters and Development.
  • Programme in Disaster Management - Unisa.
  • Disaster Mitigation for Sustainable Livelihoods Programme (DiMP) - University of Cape Town.
  • Diploma in Disaster Reduction Management - Southern Business School.
  • Skills Development Programme in Event Safety Management - Disaster Management Solutions (DMS). 
  • Experiential Learning or Experience
    This position designation represents the most senior position in a disaster management structure and requires an energetic person with proven leadership skills, sound inter personal skills and organisational ability. Applicants should have at least 5 years experience in a senior management position of which at least three should have been in a full time disaster management position at a management level. The capacity to work under pressure and make decisions under disaster conditions is of particular importance. The position requires excellent communication skills with the ability to communicate at all levels. Experience in public speaking, training and/or presentation skills is therefore highly recommended. The successful candidate should have previous experience in planning, project and finance management, with a good working knowledge of integrated development planning in the context of disaster management. A working knowledge of information management systems and GIS in its application to disaster management as well as emergency radio communication systems is highly recommended. 
    Competency Assessment
    In terms of the Policy for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), the Institute will provide a system whereby members in any Category of Membership who apply for the designation (Disaster Management Professional) may apply for recognition of prior knowledge, skills, experience, qualifications and part qualifications to be considered as criteria by which credits are accumulated for recognition for admission to the designation.

    The assessment will be conducted by two assessors acting independently and for moderation by a third party. Recommendations will be forwarded to the Technical Training Board for finalisation of the process, where after it will be submitted to the Executive Committee for ratification. 
    Designation RPL Statement
    This Designation may be awarded through Recognition of Prior Learning. 
    In order to ensure the currency of professional knowledge and to retain the Professional Designation, the professional must comply with the following minimum requirements: 
    Code of Conduct
    Members must adhere to the Professional Body Codes of Conduct and Ethics. 
    Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
    Policy for Continuing Professional Development (CDP):
    The purpose of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is to assist Disaster Management Practitioners to maintain and acquire new and updated levels of knowledge, skills and ethical attitudes on an ongoing basis, thereby enhancing and promoting professional practice and integrity.

    Description of Policy components:
    Members will be expected to acquire a predetermined number of CPD points in every two (2) year cycle in order to maintain their designations. 
    Ensure that the annual membership fee is paid. 

    (The Designation being reported on here is shown in italics.)

    Sequence Designation ID Designation Title
    1593PrDM - Disaster Management Professional

    For more information on this Professional Designation, please visit