SAQA The information on Professional Bodies and Professional Designations on the National Qualifications Framework is public property. Thus the only payment that can be made for it is for service and reproduction. It is illegal to sell this material for profit. If the material is reproduced or quoted, the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) should be acknowledged as the source.
Pr Arch Draught - Professional Architectural Draughtsperson 
525  Pr Arch Draught - Professional Architectural Draughtsperson 
SACAP - South African Council for the Architectural Profession  Reregistered 
EXCO 06164/18  2018-09-12  2023-09-11 

Architecture can be described as the design of the human environment, mostly buildings, groups of buildings and often the spaces between the buildings. The design, the documentation of design, the inspection of the construction of buildings, but also their urban context, their gardens, their interiors and sometimes their furniture, all form part of the activities of the architect. Architectural design projects range in size and complexity from small alterations for a single house to large, multi-level commercial, industrial or public buildings and building complexes or even parts of cities.

Architectural Practitioners are expected to develop and practice a wide variety of skills. Except for design and planning skills, architects should have technical, problem-solving, managerial, social-literacy, communication, co-ordination and entrepreneurial abilities. Since not every person has all these skills, may architects work in groups in which they concentrate on those aspects in which they are best. 
For the Professional Designation to be awarded, professionals must comply with the following minimum requirements: 
Underlying Registered Qualification or Part Qualification:
Obtain one of the following qualifications from a recognised academic learning site:
  • Candidate/Professional Architectural Draughtsperson.
  • National Certificate. 
  • Experiential Learning or Experience
    Newly registered candidate practitioners have to complete a period of structured practical training and accumulate the required value units. The practical training complements the academic education of the prospective professional by adding knowledge and experience which are fundamental to the profession and can only be obtained in practice.

    The length of the training period for Candidate Architectural Draughtspersons is 3 years and shall commence only after a practitioner is registered as a candidate by SACAP. This period will be extended if candidates have not obtained the required value units under each section. 
    Competency Assessment
    In addition to acquiring the required number of value units as stipulated above, Candidates are required to pass a written Professional Practice Examination (PPE). Persons registered as Candidate Architectural Draughtspersons are only required to write and pass Paper 1 of the PPE in order to be upgraded to the category of Professional Draughtsperson.

    The PPE usually takes place in March and September each financial year and may not be written until the candidate has completed at least 50% of the required recognised practical experience. The candidate can however not apply to be upgraded after successful completion of the examination, before he/she has completed the full period of practical training and accumulated the required value units. 
    Designation RPL Statement
    This Designation may not be awarded through Recognition of Prior Learning. 
    In order to ensure the currency of professional knowledge and to retain the Professional Designation, the professional must comply with the following minimum requirements: 
    Code of Conduct
    Members must adhere to the Professional Body Codes of Conduct and Ethics. 
    Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
    Only practitioners registered as Professionals are required to undertake CPD.

    The CPD system functions in cycles of five years.

    The five-year cycle of a registered person is determined by the date of registration.

    During each five years cycle, every registered person must obtain a minimum of 25 credits in order to qualify for renewal of his registration.

    A registered person must obtain at least 3 credits per annum out of the three categories of activities, subject to at least one credit being obtained from Category 1. Additional credits may be accumulated up to the maximum number of credits prescribed for each activity.

    Credits accumulated in excess of 5 during any particular year may be carried over to subsequent years of the five year cycle, provided that no more than the maximum permissible credits for the particular activity may be carried over. 
    Ensure that the annual membership fee is paid. 

    For more information on this Professional Designation, please visit